Rail workers safety medical

The Rail Workers Safety Medical forms a part of the Transport (Rail Safety) Act 2010, which requires rail operators to have and implement a health management program for their employees. There are three types of rail medicals and each category is based on the role of the employee. 


The three Rail Workers Safety Medicals are:

  • Category 1: Applies to rail workers who perform safety critical work and whose ill health may result in sudden incapacity or collapse leading to a serious incident affecting public safety or the rail network.
  • Category 2: Applies to rail workers who perform safety critical work where sudden incapacity will not impact on the safety of the public or the rail network.
  • Category 3: Applies to rail workers who perform non-safety critical work and whose health and fitness does not impact directly on the rail network, however, they are required to protect their own safety and that of other rail workers.


Rail Safety Workers medical assessments are required for the following situations:

  • Pre- Employment or change or risk category health assessments
  • Periodic health assessments - depending on your risk category
  • Triggered health assessments - any time because of concerns about the workers health.


Medicals are completed by one of our Occupational Physicians or Registrars who all obtain extensive training and knowledge in rail legislation and requirements. 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ'S):

How do I make an appointment?

You can make an appointment by contacting our administrative team on (07) 5574 5792.

Can a rail medical be done as part of a pre-employment?

Yes. It is common for our clients to get both a Pre-Employment Medical and a Rail Workers Safety Medical during one visit.